Making Democracy Work

Guide to Government

Who are our elected representatives?

Names and Contacts for National, State, and Local Leaders

Guide to Government

Guide to Government 2019

Be Informed◄ Be Involved◄ Register ◄

VOTE!Your Vote Counts! Write to Congress

To Register to Vote You Must:

Be a U.S. citizen and a resident of Kansas.
Use the Federal Form to register to vote. (If you the Kansas form, you must present proof of citizenship (such as a U.S. birth certificate)
Be at least age 18 before the next election.
Have received final discharge from imprisonment, parole, or conditional release if convicted of a felony.
Have abandoned your former residence and/or name.
Present an acceptable form of identification and a picture ID to vote.

Applications are available from the County Clerk, 110 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, KS, 66502, or from the KS Secretary of State website: (The SOS form must also include proof of citizenship. You do not need this if you use the Federal form.) Completed forms must be received by the County Clerk at least 15-days prior to the election.

Information produced by the League of Women Voters, a non-partisan political organization that promotes political responsibility through informed and active citizen participation in government.

(copyright 2019, LWV Manhattan/Riley County)

Local Legislators Enjoy Meeting the Public, September 6, 2014

National Leadership

Federal Elected Officials

President Donald Trump
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500
Phone: (202) 456-1111
FAX: (202) 456-2461
TTY/TDD Comments: (202) 456-6213

U.S. Senate
Find contact information and websites for U.S. Senators at:

U.S. Senator Jerry Moran
Email Senator Moran through his website
Washington, DC Office
354 Russell Senate Office Bldg
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-6521
Fax: (202) 228-6966
Manhattan Office: (785) 539-8973

U.S. Senator Pat Roberts

Washington, D.C. Office: 109 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510-1605 Phone: 202-224-4774 Fax: 202-224-3514 Topeka, KS Office: Frank Carlson Federal Bldg. 444 SE Quincy - Room 392 Topeka, KS 66683 Phone: (785) 295-2745 Fax: (785) 235-3665 e-mail

U.S. House of Representatives

Find contact information and websites for U.S. Representative at:

Representative Roger W. Marshall
1st District
Email Rep. Marshall through his website
Washington, DC Office,
312 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

State Leadership

State Elected Officials

Governor Laura Kelly
Email Governor Kelly through the website.
Capitol, 300 SW 10th Ave., Ste. 241S
Topeka, KS 66612-1590
Toll Free: 877-KSWORKS (877-579-6757)
Local: 785-296-3232
For the Hearing Impaired: 1-800-766-3777

Kansas Senate Find district maps and websites for all senators and representatives at:

Tom Hawk
District 22
2600 Woodhaven Ct
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: (785) 537-8000
Topeka Phone: (785) 296-7360

Kansas House of Representatives Find district map and web sites for all Senators and Representatives at:

Sydney Carlin
District 66
1650 Sunny Slope Lane
Manhattan, KS 66502
Phone: (785) 539-6612
Topeka Phone: (785) 296-7657

Tom Phillips
District 67
1530 Barrington Drive
Manhattan, KS 66503
Phone: (785) 537-2194
Topeka Phone: (785) 296-6014

Ron Highland
District 51
27487 Wells Creek Rd.
Wamego, KS 66547
Phone: (785) 456-9799
Topeka Phone: (785) 296-7310

Susan "Suzi" L. Carlson
District 64
1741 Berglund Dr.
Clay Center, KS 67432
Topeka phone: 785 296-7642

Riley County Leadership

Riley County Officials
County commission meetings are open to the public and are held every Monday and Thursday. Contact all the commissioners by email at

County Commissioners (Term ends)

John Ford/(January )
District 1,
2102 Sloan St. Apt #3
Manhattan, KS 66502

Cell: 785-313-0895 Work: 785-565-6214

Marvin Rodriguez(January 2021)
District 2,Vice Chair
P.O. Box 166,1288 Westloop,Manhattan, KS 66502

Cell: 785-307-8723
Work: 785-537-6357

Ron Wells (January 2021)
District 3
Home: (785) 537-1001
Business: 565-6213

County Officers

(Departments here

Riley County Clerk: Rich Vargo

Riley County Treasurer: Shilo Heger

Riley County Attorney: Barry Wilkerson

Riley County Appraiser: Greg McHenry

Riley County Health Dept: Jennifer Green

Riley County Register of Deeds: Debra Regester

Riley County Police Dept.: Director Dennis Butler
(785) 537-2112 x2468
(non-emergency number (785) 537-2112)

Riley County Crime Stoppers:
(785) 539-7777 or Toll free at 1-800-222-TIPS (8477).

City of Manhattan Leadership

City Of Manhattan

The City Commission's legislative meetings are held on the first and third Tuesdays of the month beginning at 7:00 p.m. at City Hall, 1101 Poyntz Ave. They are broadcast live on Channel 3 and webcast on the City's website.
Agendas, minutes, & other news can be found on the website. You can also sign up for e-mail notifications. Contact city commissioners directly or through the City Manager's Office.

Keep in touch(text alerts)

Current Commissioners:

Mike Dodson (Mayor)
City Office: (785) 587-2404
Home: (785) 537-7577

Usha Reddi, (Mayor Pro Tem)
Home: (785) 587-0798
Work: (785) 587-2080

Wynn Butler
Home: (785) 539-1979
Cell: (785) 317-2819

Jerred McKee
City Office: (785) 587-2404
Home: (785) 317-1179

Linda Morse
City Office: (785) 587-2404
Home: 785-776-6140

City Officers (Departments "here"<+

City Manager: Ron Fehr
City of Manhattan
1101 Poyntz Ave.
Manhattan, Kansas 66502
Work: (785) 587-2404

Director of Community Development: Eric Cattell

Landlord/Tenant Info: here

Public Works: Rob Ott

Parks & Rec:

Water & Sewer
City of Manhattan
Customer Service Office
1101 Poyntz Ave.

T. Russell Reitz Animal Shelter
Phone: 785-587-2754

Manhattan USD #383 School Board and District Leadership

USD 383 Board of Education

The Board of Education meets the first and third Wednesday of each month at the Robinson Education Center, 2031 Poyntz Ave. Meetings start at 6:30 p.m. Public comment is invited at the beginning of each meeting. You must complete a form in order to speak.
Board of Education meetings are televised on local cable channel 20.

Current Board Members

Darell Edie President

Curt Herrman , Vice President

David Colburn

Jurdene Coleman

Leah Fliter

Karla Hagemeister,

Katrina Lewison

Email all board members at:

Unified School District Offices, #383, Manhattan, Kansas

Superintendent: Dr. Marvin Wade

Board Clerk: Diane Dennison